The Orchid Source - Orchid Forum

Topic Options
#197878 - 06/23/09 08:55 PM Help! My phalaenopsis is dropping flowers...
meisha Offline
OSF Member

Hi all!

I'm a newbie to the whole orchid scene, and was hoping for a bit of advice! I bought a phalaenopsis from a local orchid grower a few weeks ago. It was in bloom with a number of buds when I got it. I placed it in a south-west window and I've been watering it about once a week (in the sink as the store's owner suggested) and misting it in the mornings to try and keep it humid. However, last week it started dropping some of the older flowers. New buds are still opening but it's dropped 4 or 5 flowers on me already. Is it just unhappy because it's in a new environment or am I doing something wrong?

Any advice would be appreciated... I want to try to make the orchid happy again so I don't lose all the flowers!

Thanks,
Meisha

#197884 - 06/23/09 09:20 PM Re: Help! My phalaenopsis is dropping flowers... [Re: meisha]
abaxter Offline
OSF Platinum Member

Loc: KY
Sometimes the transition from the vendor to home is a shock and is
especially hard when relative humidity is low. Misting is only temporary
at best. An egg crate humidity tray will help, but a humidifier somewhere close to the plant will do much better. All orchids resent
dry air conditions and will drop flowers to show their displeasure. I also suggest you find an east window that gets morning sun and afternoon bright shade. Kitchens and bathrooms are usually a bit
more humid for windowsill growing.

#197993 - 06/24/09 02:15 PM Re: Help! My phalaenopsis is dropping flowers... [Re: meisha]
Irma Offline
OSF Platinum Member

Loc: Puerto Rico
Also, at this time of the year Phalaenopsis begin to drop their older flowers just as any other plant will do. All blooming plants do this when the flowering season is ending, so there is nothing wrong with your plant. I have hundreds of Phals and they are all doing this right now.

Contigo en la distancia........